Skip to content
0
  • Home
  • Recent
  • Tags
  • Popular
  • World
  • Users
  • Groups
  • Home
  • Recent
  • Tags
  • Popular
  • World
  • Users
  • Groups
Skins
  • Light
  • Cerulean
  • Cosmo
  • Flatly
  • Journal
  • Litera
  • Lumen
  • Lux
  • Materia
  • Minty
  • Morph
  • Pulse
  • Sandstone
  • Simplex
  • Sketchy
  • Spacelab
  • United
  • Yeti
  • Zephyr
  • Dark
  • Cyborg
  • Darkly
  • Quartz
  • Slate
  • Solar
  • Superhero
  • Vapor

  • Default (Sketchy)
  • No Skin
Collapse

Wandering Adventure Party

  1. Home
  2. Dungeons and Dragons
  3. 2024 Savings throw wording

2024 Savings throw wording

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Dungeons and Dragons
dnd
9 Posts 8 Posters 0 Views
  • Oldest to Newest
  • Newest to Oldest
  • Most Votes
Reply
  • Reply as topic
Log in to reply
This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
  • kinther@lemmy.worldK This user is from outside of this forum
    kinther@lemmy.worldK This user is from outside of this forum
    kinther@lemmy.world
    wrote last edited by kinther@lemmy.world
    #1

    A saving throw—also called a save—represents an attempt to avoid or resist a threat. You normally make a saving throw only when a rule requires you to do so, but you can decide to fail the save without rolling. The result of a save is detailed in the effect that allowed it. If a target is forced to make a save and lacks the ability score used by it, the target automatically fails.

    Page 373 of PHB 2024

    Bolded section is what I am concerned with. Does this mean that if I am a Barbarian with Strength/Constitution saving throw proficiency, that I automatically fail when needing to perform a Dexterity saving throw (because I do not have the ability score used by it)? Example here would be the Fireball spell cast by an enemy.

    A M C nocturneN K 6 Replies Last reply
    6
    • kinther@lemmy.worldK kinther@lemmy.world

      A saving throw—also called a save—represents an attempt to avoid or resist a threat. You normally make a saving throw only when a rule requires you to do so, but you can decide to fail the save without rolling. The result of a save is detailed in the effect that allowed it. If a target is forced to make a save and lacks the ability score used by it, the target automatically fails.

      Page 373 of PHB 2024

      Bolded section is what I am concerned with. Does this mean that if I am a Barbarian with Strength/Constitution saving throw proficiency, that I automatically fail when needing to perform a Dexterity saving throw (because I do not have the ability score used by it)? Example here would be the Fireball spell cast by an enemy.

      A This user is from outside of this forum
      A This user is from outside of this forum
      aberrate_junior_beatnik (he/him)
      wrote last edited by aberrate_junior_beatnik@midwest.social
      #2

      By my reading, your hypothetical Barbarian does have a dexterity ability score whether or not they have proficiency in the saving throw. If they wanted to say lacks proficiency they would have said that directly. I’m not super familiar with the 2024 rules, so I don’t know under what circumstances a target might not have the ability score; maybe immobile objects don’t have dexterity?

      1 Reply Last reply
      4
      • kinther@lemmy.worldK kinther@lemmy.world

        A saving throw—also called a save—represents an attempt to avoid or resist a threat. You normally make a saving throw only when a rule requires you to do so, but you can decide to fail the save without rolling. The result of a save is detailed in the effect that allowed it. If a target is forced to make a save and lacks the ability score used by it, the target automatically fails.

        Page 373 of PHB 2024

        Bolded section is what I am concerned with. Does this mean that if I am a Barbarian with Strength/Constitution saving throw proficiency, that I automatically fail when needing to perform a Dexterity saving throw (because I do not have the ability score used by it)? Example here would be the Fireball spell cast by an enemy.

        M This user is from outside of this forum
        M This user is from outside of this forum
        moredekai@lemmy.world
        wrote last edited by
        #3

        No, it would mean if a target didn’t have any dexterity that they would automatically fail it. I believe this would mainly be applying towards objects/the environment, but there are probably other contexts as well.

        1 Reply Last reply
        7
        • kinther@lemmy.worldK kinther@lemmy.world

          A saving throw—also called a save—represents an attempt to avoid or resist a threat. You normally make a saving throw only when a rule requires you to do so, but you can decide to fail the save without rolling. The result of a save is detailed in the effect that allowed it. If a target is forced to make a save and lacks the ability score used by it, the target automatically fails.

          Page 373 of PHB 2024

          Bolded section is what I am concerned with. Does this mean that if I am a Barbarian with Strength/Constitution saving throw proficiency, that I automatically fail when needing to perform a Dexterity saving throw (because I do not have the ability score used by it)? Example here would be the Fireball spell cast by an enemy.

          C This user is from outside of this forum
          C This user is from outside of this forum
          carmakazi@lemmy.world
          wrote last edited by
          #4

          I can’t speak to this ruleset, but for other rule sets I’ve interpreted that kind of thing as if the target has an ability score of 0, regardless of proficiencies or lack thereof. An unconscious person or an inanimate object, for example.

          I’d presume you have a Dex value, just not a very good one.

          Øπ3ŕO kinther@lemmy.worldK 2 Replies Last reply
          3
          • C carmakazi@lemmy.world

            I can’t speak to this ruleset, but for other rule sets I’ve interpreted that kind of thing as if the target has an ability score of 0, regardless of proficiencies or lack thereof. An unconscious person or an inanimate object, for example.

            I’d presume you have a Dex value, just not a very good one.

            Øπ3ŕO This user is from outside of this forum
            Øπ3ŕO This user is from outside of this forum
            Øπ3ŕ
            wrote last edited by
            #5

            This. Ability “score” =/= “bonus”.

            1 Reply Last reply
            3
            • kinther@lemmy.worldK kinther@lemmy.world

              A saving throw—also called a save—represents an attempt to avoid or resist a threat. You normally make a saving throw only when a rule requires you to do so, but you can decide to fail the save without rolling. The result of a save is detailed in the effect that allowed it. If a target is forced to make a save and lacks the ability score used by it, the target automatically fails.

              Page 373 of PHB 2024

              Bolded section is what I am concerned with. Does this mean that if I am a Barbarian with Strength/Constitution saving throw proficiency, that I automatically fail when needing to perform a Dexterity saving throw (because I do not have the ability score used by it)? Example here would be the Fireball spell cast by an enemy.

              nocturneN This user is from outside of this forum
              nocturneN This user is from outside of this forum
              nocturne
              wrote last edited by
              #6

              Does this mean that if I am a Barbarian with Strength/Constitution saving throw proficiency, that I automatically fail when needing to perform a Dexterity saving throw (because I do not have the ability score used by it)?

              Unless your barbarian has a 0 in dex, you have a dexterity ability score. Your barbarian has proficiency in Strength and Constitution savings throw, meaning you add your proficiency bonus to your ability score bonus. The other ability scores have a savings throw of the ability score bonus, and any other bonuses you may have, but not your proficiency bonus.

              1 Reply Last reply
              6
              • C carmakazi@lemmy.world

                I can’t speak to this ruleset, but for other rule sets I’ve interpreted that kind of thing as if the target has an ability score of 0, regardless of proficiencies or lack thereof. An unconscious person or an inanimate object, for example.

                I’d presume you have a Dex value, just not a very good one.

                kinther@lemmy.worldK This user is from outside of this forum
                kinther@lemmy.worldK This user is from outside of this forum
                kinther@lemmy.world
                wrote last edited by
                #7

                That was my initial thought as well. I’m probably overthinking it.

                I’ve never sat at a table that would deny you the chance to roll to save if you didn’t have proficiency in that ability - you just on average roll worse than someone who does have proficiency in that ability.

                1 Reply Last reply
                1
                • kinther@lemmy.worldK kinther@lemmy.world

                  A saving throw—also called a save—represents an attempt to avoid or resist a threat. You normally make a saving throw only when a rule requires you to do so, but you can decide to fail the save without rolling. The result of a save is detailed in the effect that allowed it. If a target is forced to make a save and lacks the ability score used by it, the target automatically fails.

                  Page 373 of PHB 2024

                  Bolded section is what I am concerned with. Does this mean that if I am a Barbarian with Strength/Constitution saving throw proficiency, that I automatically fail when needing to perform a Dexterity saving throw (because I do not have the ability score used by it)? Example here would be the Fireball spell cast by an enemy.

                  K This user is from outside of this forum
                  K This user is from outside of this forum
                  kevo@lemmy.world
                  wrote last edited by kevo@lemmy.world
                  #8

                  A lot of people are noting ability score of 0, but I think the wording was meant to be applied to more inanimate things. An ability score of 0 is just a -5 to the score. Lots of sentient magic items and objects will have limited stats. For instance, Whelm is a magic sentient warhammer with an Intelligence of 15, Wisdom of 12, and Charisma of 15. If, for instance, it was forced to make a Strength saving throw, it has no Strength score, and therefore fails. Likewise vehicles often have Strength, Dexterity, and Constitution scores, but no mental scores. If you forced it to make a mental save, they would automatically fail.

                  1 Reply Last reply
                  6
                  • kinther@lemmy.worldK kinther@lemmy.world

                    A saving throw—also called a save—represents an attempt to avoid or resist a threat. You normally make a saving throw only when a rule requires you to do so, but you can decide to fail the save without rolling. The result of a save is detailed in the effect that allowed it. If a target is forced to make a save and lacks the ability score used by it, the target automatically fails.

                    Page 373 of PHB 2024

                    Bolded section is what I am concerned with. Does this mean that if I am a Barbarian with Strength/Constitution saving throw proficiency, that I automatically fail when needing to perform a Dexterity saving throw (because I do not have the ability score used by it)? Example here would be the Fireball spell cast by an enemy.

                    A This user is from outside of this forum
                    A This user is from outside of this forum
                    acamon@lemmy.world
                    wrote last edited by
                    #9

                    The wording is “lacks the ability score used by it”, not “lacks proficiency in the ability score”. So, your barbarian and almost all creatures have all six ability scores (although they may be low values, even 0). A table or hatstand does not have a Dexterity score so would automatically fail a save against Fireball.

                    1 Reply Last reply
                    6

                    Reply
                    • Reply as topic
                    Log in to reply
                    • Oldest to Newest
                    • Newest to Oldest
                    • Most Votes


                    • Login

                    • Login or register to search.
                    Powered by NodeBB Contributors
                    • First post
                      Last post